40th Annual PaperChase Fun Run/Walk

November 5 - 8, 2023 | Atlanta, Georgia

Sign up for updates

40th Annual PaperChase Fun Run/Walk

Tuesday, November 7th  •  7:15AM

Member and Guest (Non-Member) $30 | Student Pricing $15

Click Here to View the Race Route and Elevation  

Help some bright students achieve a future career in the pulp and paper industry!  

The PEERS Annual PaperChase Fun Run/Walk benefits the TAPPI Engineering Scholarship Fund. This popular event features a 5k run/1.2 mile walk with prizes being awarded to the top men and women finishers in the 5k run. 

Race Day Itinerary


Event Sponsors



Check out what happened in 2022!

A small but enthusiastic group of runners and walkers gathered for the 2022 TAPPI PEERS Paperchase run/walk in beautiful India Point Park, in downtown Providence Rhode Island. Under grey skies with a bit of light rain, 9 runners and walkers departed sans watches for the annual prediction run. The winner as always is the runner or walker that most closely predicts their time.

The results were determined in real-time as the runners crossed the line. With one last runner set to finish the best prediction was only 16 seconds different than the actual finishing time. Doug Giarde entered the finishing stretch and we could see he was going to be close to his prediction, in the end he ended up only 12 seconds different than his prediction time. So in this case “last” became “first”!

As always thanks goes to our sponsors: Andritz, Clyde Industries, Enero, FITNIR, International Paper, NORAM, and Pactiv Evergreen. A special thanks to Yates as not only do they sponsor the race but they also provide the T-Shirts and gift cards for the male and female winners.

Also thanks to the TAPPI crew that provided the course marshalling to ensure nobody got lost, but how lost can you really get in Rhode Island?

Andy Jones - Race Director



Predicted Time



Douglas Giarde 28:12 28:00 0:12 1st Male
Steve Campbell 24:46 24:30 0:16 2nd Male
Kurt Woytiuk 19:11 19:30 0:19 3rd Male
John Edenfield 23:20 23:00 0:20 4th Male
Ben Janvier 27:27 26:00 1:27 5th Male
Larry Montague (W) 15:01 13:00 2:01 6th Male
Naomi Ballenger (W) 15:01 17:15 2:14 1st Female
Mikko Palosaari 22:26 27:00 4:34 7th Male
Gregg Reed (W) 16:42 21:20 4:38 8th Male